| .No. | Names | Birth- Death | Time period | Facts |
|------|---------------------|-----------------|---|---|
| | Jawahar Lal Nehru | (1889– 1964) | 15 August 1947-27 May 1964 16 years, 286 days. | Prime Minister of independent India for the first and longest period. First in-office death of a prime minister. |
| | Gulzarilal Nanda | (1898– 1998) | 27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964 13 days. | After Nehru's untimely death, the nation's first acting prime minister assumed control. |
| | Lal Bahadur Shastri | (1904– 1966) | 9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966 1 year, 216 days. | During the Indo-Pak war in 1965 he was the originator of the phras "Jai Jawan Jai Kisan." |
| | Gulzarilal Nanda | (1898- 1998) | 11 January 1966, 24 January 1966 13 days. | Only man to have twice served as acting prime minister of India. |
| | Indira Gandh | (1917– 1984) | 24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977 11 years, 59 days. | The Indian prime minister's spouse, who took the oath of office |
| | Morarji Desai | (1896– 1995) | 24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979 2 years, 126 days. | First PM in 1977 following the emergency. At 81 years old, India's oldest prime minister took the oath of office before resigning His birthday was celebrated once every four years because he was born on February 29. |
| | Charan Singh | (1902– 1987) | 28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980 170 days. | Only PM who has never addressed the legislature |
| | Indira Gandhi | (1917– 1984) | 14 Jan.1980 to 31 Oct. 1984 4 years, 291 days. | Following the disaster in 1977, the first PM returned to power in 1980. Like her father, she also passed away while in office. |
| | Rajiv Gandhi | (1944– 1991) | 31 Oct 1984 to 2 Dec 1989 5 years, 32 days. | At the age of 40, he became India's youngest prime ministe |

| V. P. Singh | (1931– 2008) | 2 Dec 1989 to 10 Nov 1990 343 days. | First prime minister to leave following a no-confidence vote |
|----------------------|--|--|---|
| Chandra Shekhar | (1927– 2007) | 10 Nov 1990 to 21 June 1991 223 days. | He has never held a position of minister in any ministry. |
| P. V. Narasimha Rao | (1921– 2004) | 21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996, 4 years, 330 days. | He was from Andhra Pradesh and served as the nation's first South Indian prime minister. |
| Atal Bihari Vajpayee | (1924- 2018) | 16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996 16 days. | The shortest tenure of any Indian PM is 16 days as PM. |
| H. D. Deve Gowda | (born 1933) | 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997 324 days. | He succeeded as South India's second prime minister. He is a Karnataka native. But he didn't work there for more than a year. |
| Inder Kumar Gujral | (1919– 2012) | 21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998 332 days | After Indra Gandhi and Deve Gowda, the third Prime Minister t come from the Upper House. |
| Atal Bihari Vajpayee | (born 1924- 2018) | 19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004 6 years, 64 days. | First non-Congress Prime Ministe of independent India to serve out his full tenure |
| Manmohan Singh | (born 1932) | 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014 10 years, 4 days. | First PM of India from the minority community. |
| | Chandra Shekhar P. V. Narasimha Rao Atal Bihari Vajpayee H. D. Deve Gowda Inder Kumar Gujral Atal Bihari Vajpayee | Chandra Shekhar (1927– 2007) P. V. Narasimha Rao (1921– 2004) Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924– 2018) H. D. Deve Gowda (born 1933) Inder Kumar Gujral (1919– 2012) Atal Bihari Vajpayee (born 1924– 2018) | Chandra Shekhar |

| 8 | Narendra Modi | (born 1950) | 2014-Present | Three PMs served two terms or more prior to Modi. In 2019, he too was added to this coveted list. |
|---|---------------|----------------|--------------|---|
| | | | | |

All Prime Ministers of India List from 1947 to 2023

The prime minister is the head of the executive branch and the presiding authority under India's parliamentary system of government (is the head of government of the Republic of IndiaExecutive authority is vested in the prime minister and his chosen Council of Ministers,). The prime minister is typically the leader of the party or coalition that holds a majority in the Lok Sabha, the main legislative body of the Republic of India. The Lok Sabha is the lower chamber of the Indian Parliament. The prime minister's primary oversight body is the Lok Sabha.

The president of India appoints the prime minister, but he or she needs the backing of the majority of the Lok Sabha members, who are elected directly every five years, in order to hold onto the position. The prime minister may be present in either the Rajya Sabha or the Lok Sabha, the upper house of parliament.